This page is best viewed with JavaScript enabled.
Montly Contest Winners
This page is best viewed with JavaScript enabled.

Go Back   The Gnomon Workshop Forums > Tutorials Discussions, Tips and Guidance > General Chat / Q+A

General Chat / Q+A Post your questions regarding Subscription, tutorials, etc.

Old 07-29-2007   #1
street84

Default 3ds max or maya

many of my friends told me to study 3ds max but i dont know why i prefer maya. probably because i never had a chance to see 3ds max, but from what i have seen, people done excellent work on 3ds max.
my question is which one you would recommend me to study? and which one is easier to use between those 2 softwares? and since im studying in sydney i found out that theres only very few university teaching maya. most of them use 3ds max.
thanks
street84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007   #2
thanasisSciFi

You cant always judge by the quality of work as there are always a few gurus for each package producing amazing results. The package you choose depends on what you need, and they are all difficult to learn at first. My personal preference is maya, I have seen max and really dont like it, and currently I am getting comfortable with XSI. Maya is amazingly flexible and fast if you study it enough, and provides the fastest interaction between user and software. However, it has been mostly designed for use by large studios so it is not so single user friendly when you want to do complex FX work. I dont do complex FX work so I'm cool with having to script my way out of the problems I encounter or make optimizations I need. This is just a fraction of what I have in mind regarding your question, unfortunately I have no time right now to write everything down. Send me an email if you want to get into some specifics.