This page is best viewed with JavaScript enabled.
Montly Contest Winners
This page is best viewed with JavaScript enabled.

Go Back   The Gnomon Workshop Forums > Tutorials Discussions, Tips and Guidance > General Chat / Q+A


General Chat / Q+A Post your questions regarding Subscription, tutorials, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-14-2007   #1
enigman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Problem with mental ray in maya 8.5 Help please

ok like this :
I am not on a network i am on my own computer alone .
i just created a ball with some mental ray attibute just for this check .
this is what was writen in my output window when i click render.
mental ray for Maya 8.5
mental ray: version 3.5.6.7, 22 Nov 2006, revision 19663
mental ray: mental ray for Maya - startup done
mental ray: got 8 satellite CPUs.
LINK 0.0 error 191007: cannot load E:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya8.5/mentalray/lib/mi_openexr.dll, The specified module could not be found....

this is the exact problem i get . the render wont continue after this error . ..

thanks alot in advanced. realy cant find a way to fix this problem.
enigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007   #2
Brownie3703
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 56

Awards Showcase

Default Hello

Hey, dont know if this will help but it could be somthing simple like a render gobals setting. Make sure under the Number of CPUs section that you have nothing checked. I did that once so I thought maybe that was it. lol. See ya!
Brownie3703 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007   #3
enigman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default answer

well how do i change the number of CPU's where do i find this number checkbox so i could uncheck it
or change it back to 1
enigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007   #4
Brownie3703
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 56

Awards Showcase

Default hey

Okay, so I guess the multi processing option in the globals only applies to the Maya Software render. I dont know how to change the batch rendering settings for mental ray. Sorry man. I am new still to 3d.
Brownie3703 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007   #5
enigman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default please

Anyone else maybe ?
enigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007   #6
antonisVFX
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Well...I don't know about the specific problem but it looks to me that is looking for a dll file and cannot find it. I would search my hard drives for the specific file and see if it exists anywhere else. If yes then i would copy it to the location it is looking for it.

If this file does not exists on your pc try to uninstall and reinstall maya again. I hope this helps.....

Also check autodesk's site they've got a service pack for maya 8.5. Download and install that. It fixes a lots of bugs..it maybe one of them.

Cheers
antonisVFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007   #7
enigman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default thanks

well thanks alot mate . but i did all you said and the file are at the correct place but still have that problem. frustrating . anyone else maybe ?.
i mean i cant check the autodesk's site couse i lost my cd number.
i saw the problem then i went to make primuem account and it ask a some kinda of cd key and i lost it. :-) you know where exactly can i download this servis pack ?.

thanks alot mate
enigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007   #8
Dylser
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide, AUS
Posts: 3
Default mental ray error i have too

hi, i also have this same error with mental ray in maya 8.5 but i don't know how to fix it!
Dylser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007   #9
antonisVFX
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Default

No login or something is required by autodesk to download the service pack.

Here is the link.

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...linkID=9242259

Check it out and see if that fixes your problem.

Cheers.
antonisVFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007   #10
enigman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default THanks

thanks for the servise pack . it appears i allready had it ... :-( and still nothing
enigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New image in Maya(mental ray) Kain Haz Portfolio Review 5 01-17-2011 03:22 AM
Correctly using .map files with Mental Ray in Maya head_smell_ General Chat / Q+A 2 12-24-2007 10:01 AM
Problem..mental ray kiborge General Chat / Q+A 4 09-13-2007 08:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:59 AM.

 
Forums Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2000-2013 The Gnomon Workshop, Inc. - All Rights Reserved. No part of this website may be reproduced without written permission.