This page is best viewed with JavaScript enabled.
Montly Contest Winners
This page is best viewed with JavaScript enabled.

Go Back   The Gnomon Workshop Forums > Tutorials Discussions, Tips and Guidance > Portfolio Review

Portfolio Review Share your work for constructive criticism from us and the community

Old 07-10-2007   #1
theincredibleandy

Default I hope you like art!

My name's Andrew Murray, and I'm an illustrator/concept artist. I've been around on other forums, but this is my first post here. I hope you like the work, and check out my website if you want to see some more stuff.

These first ones are old, but I still like em:

Slightly newer work, back when I was trying to prove to companies that I could do item illustrations:

This was (or will be) an album cover for a christian power metal band called "Jacobs Dream." They're a bunch of friendly guys along the lines of Therion and Sonata Arctica, and it was a blast getting to draw dark stuff for them. It's even on Wikipedia. Now I really am a star! Anyway, their new album will be called "Dominion of Darkness," and you should check them out!

This is a silly self-portrait I did one day. I wanted a new portrait image to decorate my website with, something that would fit more with the work I've been doing. It's still silly, but oh well:

I really want to paint book covers, and I thought that showing brighter colors and multiple people in a focused kind of composition would help make that happen one of these days. I kept making time to work on this in between projects, and I think I learned a lot as a result.

I am a huge fan of artists like Armand Serrano and how they can make show-stopping nature scenes. I tried to make a jungle with as much of that lushness as I could, and while I'm at it show a guy who's not my typical frail wuss dude.