This page is best viewed with JavaScript enabled.
Montly Contest Winners
This page is best viewed with JavaScript enabled.

Go Back   The Gnomon Workshop Forums > Tutorials Discussions, Tips and Guidance > General Chat / Q+A

General Chat / Q+A Post your questions regarding Subscription, tutorials, etc.

Old 06-24-2007   #1
eltese

Default Need help.

Hi. Im kinda new to the whole 3d modelling scene and Ive tried out Maya. I like it very much but it seem thoroughly difficult to master and Ive been having some problems doing the stuff I would like to create. I need to make 2 stunning pictures for a school Im hoping to get in too (gamemaking).

Ive got relatively good photshop skills and got some good pictures there... But to really blow their minds I would like to create something useful in Maya.

Any tips on how advanced etc I should go? I want to make one picutre "cartoonish" of a house with an elf on it with big flowers as background.

And one more realistic of something like a medieval lab.

So I would be more than happy to receive some tricks and tips for how to make those. And wich one do you think it would be easier to make it in? 3DS max or Maya?

Thanks / eltese
eltese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007   #2
antonisVFX

Well, as far as which 3d package is better or easier that depends on you. I'd suggest that you try as many as you can, there are demo versions for all of them, 3ds, Maya, Cinema4D, Lightwave, XSI, houdini etc etc, and find the one you like.

Now as far as how advanced you wanna go into Maya, well that depends how good results you want. If you just want to impress your friends then the introductory dvd's here at gnomon should be enough, but you can't just walk into maya and get some film like results. Lot's of us are been trying for quite some time now with lots of efforts, tutorials and commitment and we are not half way through yet.

I hope that helps.

Cheers
antonisVFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2007   #3