This page is best viewed with JavaScript enabled.
Montly Contest Winners
This page is best viewed with JavaScript enabled.

Go Back   The Gnomon Workshop Forums > Tutorials Discussions, Tips and Guidance > Work-in-Progress (WIPs)

Work-in-Progress (WIPs) Working on your submission for the monthly contests and want to share your progress/process and get some feedback? This is the place to do it.

Old 10-25-2009   #1
one lung lewis

Awards Showcase

Default The Painting Experiment: The Artistic Journey of Jackson Robinson

The Painting Experiment
The artistic journey of Jackson Robinson

Hi everybody, first of all thanks for taking the time to read this. My name is Jackson Robinson (onelunglewis) I'm an High School Art teacher in the Dallas Texas area. I recently worked as a professional illustrator (all digital) for a studio in Lewisville, Texas called Ranch 5.. It was an absolute dream job and they took care of me and my family incredibly. Unfortunately due to the economic times they went under.

So here you find me, on a completely new chapter of my life and have no idea where I'm going from here. I have done some huge soul searching and have decided to pursue a traditional fine arts career.

I graduated from the University of North Texas with a Drawing & Painting degree, but now realized that my 6 years in college were an absolute waist. If you want to learn how to draw or learn the technical skills of art, DON'T you will not find it in a modern university setting. (At least the one I attended) Find a master artist to study under or a respected Atelier to study at. (more on Ateliers later)

I have been inspired by numerous threads on conceptart.org and feel compelled to start my own threading journey.