This page is best viewed with JavaScript enabled.
Montly Contest Winners
This page is best viewed with JavaScript enabled.

Go Back   The Gnomon Workshop Forums > Tutorials Discussions, Tips and Guidance > General Chat / Q+A


General Chat / Q+A Post your questions regarding Subscription, tutorials, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2009   #1
syfer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: uk
Posts: 19
Default create a flickering light help????

Hi I am using 3d max 2009 and want to now something how do i create a flickering light?
I need a video tutorial. can some one help me?
syfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009   #2
Fuzzy_Logic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Default

dont know of a tut, but you could key frame the intensity of the light, or a better way would be write a small mel script that randomly changes the intensity or visability of the light.
Hopefully someone here will be able to write the script for you. It would be very simple.

sorry just relised you were using max instead of maya. Same goes actually, im sure there is a scripting language in max.
Fuzzy_Logic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009   #3
syfer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: uk
Posts: 19
Default

so how do i key frame the lights?
syfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009   #4
maazzaam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jeddah, KSA
Posts: 2
Post Help from Maaz

Hi,

about key framing the light intensity.

1. Turn on the Auto Key
2. Change the light intensity to 0 then
3. move the time slider forward a few frames and change the intensity to 3 or 4 then
4. move a little bit more on the time slider and change the light intensity to say 2 or 1 and the mover a little bit move forward and change the intensity to 0.
5. Repeat this and try different values of intensity and try to key frames closer.

There You have a flickering light hope this helps.
maazzaam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009   #5
fatalerror
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 119
Default

Could also connect a animated texture to the light intensity, would work in maya anyways.
fatalerror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009   #6
openstheway
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 9
Talking don't know if this is too late?

I have a good answer to your problem, I don't know if you've already fixed it but.

Make a dummy object
constant the movement of Z axis and limit the range from 0 to 100
connect the Z value to the light multiplier ane then put a noise mod on to the dummy object.

if you understand all that great, if not say and I'll go into a whole lot more detail.

Hope that helps

James

openstheway is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transparency maps and Light Fog ? andy gee General Chat / Q+A 2 05-23-2008 04:25 AM
Practical Light and Colour space-sprayer General Chat / Q+A 1 09-18-2007 16:05 PM
Block Island Southeast Light Res_Com_3D Portfolio Review 0 12-29-2006 10:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:57 AM.

 
Forums Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2000-2013 The Gnomon Workshop, Inc. - All Rights Reserved. No part of this website may be reproduced without written permission.