This page is best viewed with JavaScript enabled.
Montly Contest Winners
This page is best viewed with JavaScript enabled.

Go Back   The Gnomon Workshop Forums > Tutorials Discussions, Tips and Guidance > General Chat / Q+A


General Chat / Q+A Post your questions regarding Subscription, tutorials, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2008   #1
kevline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Default Skinning on bts 2 modeling geo ??

Hi,
My friend bought this dvd, when I saw it I was amazed by the skinning.

I had already tried to modeling a character with this workflow (several separate elements) and when I tried to skin it, it was hell... Overlap or too stretch etc
My question is how it's possible to skin a character like this ? it's the normal way (w/ paint weight) or another thing?
Thank you
kevline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008   #2
GTpix
Senior Member
 
GTpix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: France
Posts: 403

Awards Showcase

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevline View Post
Hi,
My friend bought this dvd, when I saw it I was amazed by the skinning.

I had already tried to modeling a character with this workflow (several separate elements) and when I tried to skin it, it was hell... Overlap or too stretch etc
My question is how it's possible to skin a character like this ? it's the normal way (w/ paint weight) or another thing?
Thank you
Hi,
1st: when you model your character, try to not add too much details.
2nd: with the low polygon, create your UVmap, detach, unwrap, move the uvs according to the topology of the characer.
3rd: continue to add details and polygons on your model, but check the UVs to see how they fit. In some case, modify some of them.
Hope it helps.
GTpix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008   #3
kevline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Yes but it's more for uvs. My question is about the skinning. Like when he moves the arm, gadgets or the jacket in serveral parts don't overlap for exp.
I don't know how to describe but to make that it's very hard i think.
kevline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008   #4
GTpix
Senior Member
 
GTpix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: France
Posts: 403

Awards Showcase

Default

Can you prepare some screen captures? It would be helpful.
GTpix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008   #5
kevline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Default

I just capture some screens. of course if he moves too high the arm, he'll got few problems i think. But maybe he think about that while modeling and he knows it's impossible for the character to raise arms, for a character as a spy it's a little bit stupid. We shall se when they'll animate, it if they make it.
kevline is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:50 AM.

 
Forums Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2000-2013 The Gnomon Workshop, Inc. - All Rights Reserved. No part of this website may be reproduced without written permission.