This page is best viewed with JavaScript enabled.
Montly Contest Winners
This page is best viewed with JavaScript enabled.

Go Back   The Gnomon Workshop Forums > Tutorials Discussions, Tips and Guidance > General Chat / Q+A

General Chat / Q+A Post your questions regarding Subscription, tutorials, etc.

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2008   #1
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Perth WA, AU
Posts: 33

Awards Showcase

Default Soft Selection in Maya?

Hi everyone,
I was wondering if i have been over looking a modeling tool in maya that would be able to give me a soft selection like the one found in 3ds max for vertexes... I found a mel script on but it works terrible...Anyone???
head_smell_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008   #2
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5

Soft mod is the closest thing you have. It's like adding a node onto a model, if it has history on it. If there's no history, it disappears. There are some different settings you can change on the tool, and it's a little different from Max, but it does the same job. You're just selecting that node rather than the actual verts though (you don't have to be in component mode to use it) which is nice, because then the wireframe doesn't get in the way of you judging how the model looks.
Our real discoveries come from chaos, from going to the place that looks wrong and stupid and foolish.
EvilTheCat is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:14 PM.

Forums Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2000-2013 The Gnomon Workshop, Inc. - All Rights Reserved. No part of this website may be reproduced without written permission.